allowance of \$3,000. Legislation passed on July 7, 1971 provides for payment of a \$6,000 indemnity and a \$2,000 supplementary allowance to the leader in the National Assembly of any opposition party having elected at least 12 members or having obtained 20% of the total vote in Quebec at the last general election.

A member is entitled to a maximum of \$200 per month for expenses incurred in maintaining an office in his constituency if the government does not provide one. Members are entitled to reimbursement of expenses incurred in maintaining in Quebec or its immediate vicinity a second residence which they would not require had they not been elected to the Assembly, or for trips to Quebec, in an amount not exceeding \$200 per month.

The twenty-sixth Ministry of Quebec as at Dece	mber 31, 1972
Prime Minister, Robert Bourassa	Minister of Communications, Jean-Paul L'Allier
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of	Minister of Revenue, Gérald Harvey
Intergovernmental Affairs, Gérard D. Lévesque	Minister of Labour and Manpower and Minister
Minister of Roads, Minister of Public Works and	responsible for the Civil Service, Jean Cournoyer
Minister of Transport, Bernard Pinard	Minister of Immigration and Minister responsible
Minister of Cultural Affairs, Mme Claire	for the Manpower Branch of the Department of
Kirkland-Casgrain	Labour and Manpower, Jean Bienvenue
Minister of Social Affairs, Claude Castonguay	Minister of Tourism, Fish and Game, Claude
Minister of Justice, Jérôme Choquette	Simard
Minister of Industry and Commerce, Guy St-Pierre	Minister responsible for the Autoroutes Authority
Minister of Finance, Raymond Garneau	of Quebec, Georges E. Tremblay
Minister of Municipal Affairs, Maurice Tessier	Minister of State for Intergovernmental Affairs,
Minister of Financial Institutions, Companies and	Minister of State for Finance and Minister of
Cooperatives, William Tetley	State for the Civil Service, Oswald Parent
Minister of Agriculture and Colonization,	Minister of the Environment, Victor C. Goldbloom
Normand Toupin	Minister of State responsible for the Eastern
Minister of Natural Resources, Gilles Massé	Quebec Development Bureau, Robert
Minister of Lands and Forests, Kevin Drummond	Quenneville
Minister of Education, François Cloutier	Minister of State for Roads, Raymond Mailloux.

4.3.1.6 Ontario

The government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since his appointment effective July 4, 1968, the Honourable W. Ross Macdonald has been Lieutenant-Governor. The Legislative Assembly is composed of 117 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the general election October 21, 1971, 78 Progressive Conservatives, 20 Liberals and 19 New Democrats were elected to the province's twenty-ninth Legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries there are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario - St.Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1960, c.208 as amended) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$12,000 and an expense allowance of \$6,000. In addition, the Speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$5,000, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole \$4,000 and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$15,000. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Prime Minister is \$20,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a ministry \$15,000. By the 1956 amendment, Ministers of the Crown who are in charge of ministries, the Minister of the Crown who is a member of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, and the Leader of the Opposition each receives a representation allowance of \$2,000 per annum. Each Minister without portfolio, other than that Minister who is a member of The Hydro-Electric Power Commission, receives \$5,000 salary and \$1,000 representation allowance per annum.

The eighteenth Ministry of Ontario as at December 31, 1972

Premier and President of the Council, Hon. William G. Davis

Provincial Secretary for Social Development, Hon. Robert Welch Provincial Secretary for Resources Development, Hon, A.B.R. Lawrence

Solicitor General, Hon. John Yaremko Minister of Revenue, Hon. Allan Grossman

134